Make it a musical ChistmasHalf Price SaleNew ABRSM Bowed String Syllabus... available now!Free delivery on all orders [click for details]
My Basket

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Order Direct

The Oxford Book of Ceremonial Music For Organ, Book 2

Be the first to review this product

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

25 ceremonial pieces for manuals and pedals

The Oxford Book of Ceremonial Music For Organ, Book 2

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views


The second Oxford Book of Ceremonial Music for Organ is a practical collection of repertoire covering a wide range of uses, from formal public events to more private occasions. The music is stylistically varied, encompassing both flamboyant extravagance and restrained solemnity. Selected with players of intermediate to advanced ability in mind, the collection includes established favourites and attractive new arrangements of well-known works, alongside newly commissioned pieces.

25 ceremonial pieces for manuals and pedals, in a variety of musical forms, suitable for use at services throughout the church's year or as recital repertoire.

Original music for the instrument, spanning the seventeenth century to the present day, including compositions by J. S. Bach, Gigout, Hurford, Francis Jackson, Jongen, Reger, and Whitlock, plus commissions from Gabriel Jackson and George McPhee.

Arrangements of well-known works, including movements from Debussy's Suite bergamasque, Elgar's Spirit of England, Handel's Almira, Kodaly's Háry János, and Ireland's Downland Suite, plus Sousa's Washington Post March.

First publication of York Bowen's Wedding March alongside significant rediscoveries of organ repertoire by John Cook, Ernest Farrar, and Humphrey John Stewart.

- Fugue on the Magnificat ('Meine Seele erhebt den Herrn') [J. S. Bach]
- Scottish Legend from Two Piano Pieces, Op. 54 [Amy Beach]
- Wedding March [York Bowen]
- Aria, [Eugène Bozza]
- Fanfare (Psalm 81, vv. 1 3) [John Cook]
- Clair de Lune from Suite bergamasque [Claude Debussy]
- Solemn Prelude from 'For the Fallen' from Spirit of England, Op. 80 [Edward Elgar]
- Elegy [E. B. Farrar]
- Toccata from 10 Pièces pour orgue [Eugène Gigout]
- Two Dances: Chaconne and Sarabande from Almira, HWV 1 [G. F. Handel]
- Overture from Saul, HWV 53 [G. F. Handel]
- Paean [Peter Hurford]
- Elegy from A Downland Suite [John Ireland]
- Prelude on 'East Acklam' [Francis Jackson]
- Carillon for Nick and Louise [Gabriel Jackson]
- Pièce pour grand orgue [Joseph Jongen]
- Intermezzo from Háry János [Zoltán Kodály]
- Prelude on 'Bunessan' [George McPhee]
- Prelude on 'Nun danket alle Gott' [Karl Piutti]
- Fugue from Variations and Fugue on the 'English National Anthem' [Max Reger]
- Ständchen (Serenade) from Schwanengesang, D. 957 [Franz Schubert]
- Etude from Trois Pièces, Op. 2 [A. N. Skryabin]
- The Washington Post March [John Philip Sousa]
- Spanish Military March from the music-drama "Gold" [Humphrey John Stewart]
- March 'Rustic Cavalry' from the Wessex Suite [Percy Whitlock]

Additional Information

Item Code 9780193528369
Composer/Author ed. Robert Gower

This website requires cookies to provide all of its features and functionality. To confirm that you accept cookies from this site, please click the Allow button below.

For more information, please see our Privacy Policy page.