We've moved...We've moved...
My Basket

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Order Direct

The Oxford Book of Funeral and Memorial Music for Organ

Be the first to review this product

Availability: In stock


Quick Overview

28 reflective pieces

The Oxford Book of Funeral and Memorial Music for Organ

Double click on above image to view full picture

Zoom Out
Zoom In

More Views


The Oxford Book of Funeral and Memorial Music for Organ is a collection of practical repertoire for organists playing at funerals, memorial services, and services of thanksgiving. Covering a broad range of music for players of intermediate ability, it includes a mixture of established repertoire, attractive new arrangements of well-known works, and newly commissioned pieces.

- A Grand Dirge [Attwood]
- Chorale Prelude on 'Herr Gott, nun schleuss den Himmel auf' BWV 617 [J.S. Bach]
- Chorale Prelude on 'Liebster Jesu, wir sind hier' (Canon at the 5th) BWV 633 [J.S. Bach]
- Chorale Prelude on 'Mit Fried und Freud ich fahr dahin' BWV 616 [J.S. Bach]
- Chorale Prelude on 'Nun danket alle Gott' BWV 657 [J.S. Bach]
- Sonatina from Cantata Gottes Zeit ist die allerbeste Zeit ('Actus Tragicus') BWV 106 [J.S. Bach]
- Sinfonia from Cantata Ich steh' mit einem Fuss im Grabe BWV 156 [J.S. Bach]
- Ave Maria [J.S. Bach/Gounod]
- O wie selig seid ihr doch, ihr Frommen (O how blessed are you, the righteous) Op. 122 No. 6 [Brahms]
- How lovely are thy dwellings from Ein deutsches Requiem, Op. 45 [Brahms]
- Nimrod from Variations on an Original Theme ('Enigma Variations'), Op. 36 [Elgar]
- Pavane, Op. 50 [Fauré]
- Desiderium (A Spiritual Quadlibet: Steal away; Deep river; Swing low, sweet chariot) [Gower]
- Largo from Symphony No. 9 in E minor ('From the New World'), Op. 95 [Dvořák]
- I know that my Redeemer liveth from Messiah, HWV 56 [Handel]
- Ombra mai fu from Serse, HWV 40 [Handel]
- O rest in the Lord from Elijah, Op. 70 [Mendelssohn]
- For the Little Organ Book [Parry]
- Chorale Prelude on 'Eventide' [Parry]
- Pavane pour une infante défunte [Ravel]
- Gymnopédie No. 1 [Satie]
- Adagio from String Quintet D956 [Schubert]
- Andante con moto from String Quartet No. 14 in D minor ('Death and the Maiden') D. 810 [Schubert]
- Bist du bei mir from Notebook for Anna Magdalena Bach (1725)[Stölzel]
- Contemplation on 'On Eagle's Wings' (Michael Joncas) [te Velde]
- Prelude on 'Crimond' [te Velde]
- Berceuse (sur les paroles classiques) No. 19 from 24 Pièces en style libre, Op. 31 [Vierne]
- Folk Tune (No. 2 from Five Short Pieces) [Whitlock]

Additional Information

Item Code 9780193401198
Composer/Author ed. Julian Elloway

This website requires cookies to provide all of its features and functionality. To confirm that you accept cookies from this site, please click the Allow button below.

For more information, please see our Privacy Policy page.